Loved, Left

​I fell in love with a boy once.

He had a face that was carved by
angels and knowledge of a wise man.
But the words that came out of
his mouth were bitter and damaging.
So I left.

I fell in love with a boy once.
He was the person that I shared everything with
and the perfect remedy to every tears shed.
But his hues of darkness showed gradually,
could not even grasp between love and abuse.
So I left.

I fell in love with a boy once.
He was similar to pages of a
comic book, always funny and lively.
But I was only a dictionary to him – used when
needed, left by the shelf when no longer favoured.
So I left.

I fell in love with a boy once.
He was a beautiful nightmare and a trouble
that I braved enough to discover and learn.
But I was only a show as he admired
everything except for my heart.
So I left.

I fell in love with a boy once,
He gave flowers every day and convinced
that his heart was mine to keep.
But I was only his Friday’s go-to
for other days he had other favourites.
So I left.

No regrets, just lesson learned.
Feelings are locked, so it won’t get burnt.
Things will no longer be the same,
but at least I’ll stay sane.
I guess half of what they said is true,
I loved, I left.

Leave a Reply

